Lionel Messi Makes History, Wins 2021 Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi Makes History, Wins 2021 Ballon d’Or

Argentine forward and Paris Saint-Germain striker, Lionel Messi has emerged as the winner of the 2021 men’s Ballon d’or.

The talismanic player made history on Monday night when he was declared winner of the award ahead of all other contestants including Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski.

With the 2021 award in the kitty, 34-year-old Messi has now won the Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time.

The Ballon d’Or was held at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Messi’s closest rival in the list of winners of the prestigious Ballon d’or award, Cristiano Ronaldo who has 5 wins to his name could only manage a 6th place finish on Monday night in the top list of players contesting for the 2021 award.

Polish professional footballer, Robert Lewandowski has won this year’s striker of the year award.

The Bayern Munich player was announced striker of the year at the 2021 Ballon d’Or event on Monday.

Lewandowski who wins the inaugural Striker of the Year award was a bit emotional while addressing dignitaries and fellow players after he was called up to speak at the event.

“I’m very proud of this trophy, I know what it means to be ready to score the goal,” the Polish player said.

He added: “Everything I do I have to thank my teammates, coach, and staff. Without them, it’s difficult to be at the front.”

Cristiano Ronaldo Finishes Sixth

Manchester United forward and five-time Ballon d’Or winner, Cristiano Ronaldo on Monday finished sixth on the list of the top ten players contesting for the award.

This simply means there will be no sixth Ballon d’Or for Cristiano Ronaldo this evening with the Portuguese forward finishing sixth in the ranking

The ranking has seen Paris Saint Germain striker, Mbappe ranked ninth in the Ballon d’Or voting with Gianluigi Donnarumma in 10th.

Kevin de Bruyne has been ranked eighth in the Ballon d’Or voting with Mohamed Salah in seventh place, both players have given their best to their clubs and national teams.

Meanwhile, Italy and PSG goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma has won the 2021 Yashin Trophy, beating out Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy who had been tipped for the award.

Donnarumma won the Best Player award at Euro 2020 and made the switch from AC Milan to the French capital in the summer.

N’Golo Kante is ranked fifth with Jorginho, who had been tipped to win the award after success with Chelsea and Italy, in third place!

Real Madrid striker, Karim Benzema who had an exceptional year for France and Real Madrid ranked fourth on the list.